

## PRESS RELEASE

## **Humans Destroy Planets - new EP from Thomas Blachman**

Thomas Blachman is a visionary drummer, composer, and producer, and with a career spanning over three decades, He has consistently pushed the boundaries of musical expression, leaving an indelible mark on the industry.

"Humans Destroy Planets" is a sounding board for global conscience. In a world where environmental dilemmas have transcended mere newsfeeds, Blachman takes the stage armed with rhythm and melody.

Thomas Blachman earned a bachelor's degree in composition at Berklee in Boston in 1985, and then returned home to Denmark and became a co-founder of the award-winning neo-bop quintet Page One. He has received five Danish Grammys. One for his jazz quintet album 'Loveboat', two for 'The Style and Invention Album fusing jazz and hip-hop, and two as a producer alongside Kasper Winding for Swedish singer Caroline Henderson's debut album Cinemataztic.

In the late 1990s he became a co-founder of one of Denmark's most esteemed jazz trios named GinmanBlachmanDahl, who still play to packed concert halls.

In Humans Destroy Planets he is back into electronic music. Screaming Twenties is an electronic dance floor jazz EP with a warm analog sound and a distinctly cinematic quality. He has been digging deep into his own multi-track jazz recordings and found treasures of instruments he has looped, processed, and tweaked into otherworldly sounds. A homage to the movement of beats and jazz that Blachman was a major part of in Denmark, and the '00s dancefloor jazz also called Nu'jazz.

## **Tracks:**

1) I worry for you (T. Blachman)	3:50	Single 1. Release: 08.09.2023
2) Growth Imperative (T. Blachman)	3:49	Single 2. Release: 06.10.2023
3) Anthill Left Alive (T. Blachman)	3:36	Single 3. Release: 03.11.2023
4) Regret? (T. Blachman)	2:28	EP. Release: 01.12.2023
5) Future Gone Forever (T. Blachman)	3:35	

All tracks composed, recorded and mixed by Thomas Blachman. Samples from Bas: Mathias Petri, Piano: Artur Tuznik, Sax: Oilly Wallace. Masterering: Anders Shuman at C4 studio. Album design: Henry Blachman. Photo: Adrian Täckman. Released at Gateway Music 2023